What is the Medicare Eligibility Age?

What is Medicare?

Medicare is a national healthcare program established by the United States federal government in 1965. It’s part of the Social Security Act, which aims to provide subsidized health services for people aged 65 and above without health insurance.

Medicare is controlled by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Medicare provides health services for people with specific disabilities, end-stage renal disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease.

Types of Medicare

Medicare is divided into four plans: Medicare Part A, Part B, Part C, and Medicare Part D. Each part has its benefits. Medicare Part A and B are free if you are a social security beneficiary.

  • Medicare Part A covers hospital bills, skilled nursing facilities, and home-based healthcare services.
  • Part B covers doctor visits, ambulance services, medical facilities, preventive services, and mental health.
  • Part C covers dental, vision, and hearing aids.
  • Part D allows the beneficiary to receive subsidized drug costs.

Who is Eligible for Medicare?

Often, many people ask about the Medicare eligibility age. However, age is not the only criteria to be a beneficiary of Medicare.

 Several conditions have to be certified to be eligible for Medicare. Among them is that you must be 65 or older and have lived in the United States for more than five years. Hence, the Medicare eligibility age is 65 years and above.

However, people younger than 65 may be eligible if they receive Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI). The recipient of SSDI needs to wait 24 months after they receive their first check before they become eligible for Medicare. However, this is not required for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and permanent kidney failure.

How Do I Register for Medicare?

medicare insurance free quote
Get a FREE No Obligation Medicare Quote Today

Registration for Medicare isn’t complex as long as you can receive Social Security benefits.

Automatically you get enrolled in two categories of Medicare: Medicare A(which takes care of your hospital bill) and Medicare B(which takes care of the cost of visiting the doctor).

To be eligible for other parts of Medicare (Medicare C and D), you must register through the Social Security Administration (SSA) official website. Kindly note that the registration must be done at least seven months before retirement.

If you qualify for Medicare but don’t know where to start, we have licensed insurance agents ready to answer your questions and help you enroll in Medicare Advantage, Medicare Supplement Insurance, and Prescription Part D plans.

Related Reading

Greg Wilson
Greg Wilsonhttps://senioraffair.com
Our journey started in 2020; our family was tasked to care for an older woman. She had mobility, financial, insurance, and personal and health setbacks. Due to the pandemic, this lasted for a year. We had to help her get around, prepare meals, arrange and help with transportation, and much more! During the process, she became an adored member of our family, the experience open our eyes to the reality that while most prefer to age at home, this comes with many challenges, and if we end up needing a caregiver, this comes with a steep learning curve. So we started keeping a blog about simple discoveries after lots of research of products and services for older people; this is how Senior Affair Magazine was born.

More From this Author

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

Subscribe to our newsletter
Join our club to receive exclusive offers and discounts in your inbox.